Return to Headlines

U-46 Celebrates 30 Winners of the Superintendent’s Scholarship

April 26, 2018

ELGIN - School District U-46 hosted the seventh annual Superintendent’s Scholarship reception and awards ceremony for the student recipients, their families and scholarship donors on Wednesday, April 25 at Elgin High School. The reception honored 30 Class of 2018 seniors from all five of the District’s comprehensive high schools, Bartlett, Elgin, Larkin, South Elgin and Streamwood, as well as students enrolled at the DREAM Academy, an alternative educational program. These recipients are being recognized for paving a new path as the first in their families to attend college.

“All 30 students believe in the American Dream,” said U-46 CEO Tony Sanders. “All of these students, and their families, are striving for a better life, a life promised through higher education. We are so proud of these outstanding students and excited for their futures. We are also very appreciative of the generous members of the U-46 community who have donated toward this scholarship fund.”

Dr. José Torres established the Superintendent’s Scholarship fund in 2012 through the U-46 Educational Foundation. Since then, more than 180 U-46 graduates, including this year’s recipients, have each received a $1,000 scholarship.

Eligible seniors submitted applications for the scholarship this past winter. The application included their high school transcript, a copy of their Federal Student Aid application, a letter of recommendation from an adult (a principal, teacher, academic advisor, employer, religious leader, etc.) and a personal essay. A panel of judges selected the 30 scholarship recipients, who come from a variety of backgrounds, from more than 80 applicants. Some of the recipients grew up in poverty, some have disabilities, some overcame traumatic experiences and several are immigrants or children of immigrants. The 30 students are bound for post-secondary institutions including Princeton University, Augustana College, the University of Illinois at Chicago, Southern Illinois University and Syracuse University.

During the scholarship reception on Wednesday evening, the students were celebrated for their accomplishments but also urged to visit with donors and administrators. A week before the reception, recipients participated in a networking workshop led by former Board of Education member Traci O’Neal Ellis to help prepare them with tips and techniques. The students each received a customized box of business cards. Mrs. O’Neal Ellis emphasized the skills needed to make a good first impression and demonstrate self-confidence.

To learn more about the Class of 2018 Superintendent's Scholarship, you can watch this video. Their names and high schools are as follows: 

Bartlett High School

Cindy Alba

Emilia Sordyl

Steven Phan

Ummie Ansari

Alden Williams

DREAM Academy

Rodrigo Arroyo

Montserrat Perez

Andres Bedolla

Elgin High School

Devin Wisniewski

Nereida Rosas

Katherine Irelan

Leslie Duran

Emmanuel Ntim

Larkin High School

Justin Kelsey

Rebeca Solis

Sheila Vasquez

Emily Renteria

Ezzry Leon

Jessie VanDyke

Monserrat Rivera

South Elgin High School

Sergio Perez

Jasmine Vergara

Alex Hernandez

Miguel Valencia

Colette Jones

Streamwood High School

Brianna Roldan

Monica Kulasik

Adriana D'Souza

Vanessa Garcia

Bryan Lopez