Return to Headlines

U-46 Students to Receive Scholarships at Club Guadalupano Latino Awards Banquet

April 17, 2019

Club Guadalupano will celebrate 42 years of awarding scholarships to U-46 high school seniors at the annual Latino Awards Banquet. More than 20 students will be honored during the event on Saturday, April 20 at Grand Victoria Casino in Elgin.

“We’re excited to once again celebrate some of our amazing students for their exemplary academic performance and service,” said U-46 CEO Tony Sanders. “We join their parents, teachers and local community leaders in commending these students.”

The first Latino Awards Banquet began in 1977 with scholarships available exclusively to graduating high school seniors. The Club Guadalupano Scholarship Committee reviewed 66 applications this year before selecting the 23 recipients based on academic excellence, school and community involvement, and personal essays.

Twenty-one high school students from the District’s five high schools will receive a Zoilo Santiago Memorial Award for Academic Achievement, named in honor of the late U-46 bilingual teacher whose commitment to the community went beyond the classroom.

Students who will be presented with the Club Guadalupano scholarship include:

Bartlett High School - German Acevedo, Denise Valdez, Jasmine Méndez, Rey Gordino, Jacqueline Zarate

Elgin High School - Guadalupe Chávez, Vanessa Róbelo, Weyne Berduo

Larkin High School - Caroline Chwalisz, Maritza Rentería, Lesley Pozos, Carlos Toledo, Elisa Arce, Jair Núñez

South Elgin High School - Mackenzie Molina, Maritza Pitones

Streamwood High School - Karina Adán, Diego Castillo, Christian González, Kiara Kerkoofs, Edgar Gasca

Larkin High School student Elisa Arce will also receive the William Castillo Memorial Award for School and Community Service, which is named after a former U-46 Board of Education member who was the first Hispanic elected to public service in the area and former president of Centro de Información.

Elgin Community College (ECC) will also award two ECC Foundation Scholarships to Bartlett High School student Jacqueline Zarate and Streamwood High School student Diego Castillo and two ECC Trustee Scholarships to Larkin High School student Jair Núñez and Streamwood High School student Edgar Gasca.

Tickets are $60 per person. Social hour will begin at 6 p.m., followed by the banquet at 7 p.m.