School District U-46 Elgin, Illinois

May 13, 2019

The Regular Meeting of the Board of Education was called to order at 6:02 p.m. at South Elgin High School, 760 East Main Street, South Elgin, Illinois. The following Board members answered roll call: John Devereux, Veronica Noland, Melissa Owens, Eva Porter, Donna Smith, Kate Thommes, and Sue Kerr. Also present were Chief Executive Officer Tony Sanders, and Chief Legal Officer Miguel Rodriguez as well as other administrators, guests, and visitors. Ms. Kerr led the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance.

1. Accent on Achievement

- A. <u>Karen Osborne Kane County Support Staff Personnel of the Year</u>. As part of the Board of Education's Accent on Achievement, the Board of Education recognized Karen Osborne, of Fox Meadow Elementary School, for being named Kane County Support Staff Personnel of the Year by the Kane County Regional Office of Education on Friday, May 3, 2019 at the Q Center in St. Charles.
- B. <u>Top 2% High School Seniors</u>. The Board of Education hosted a reception at 6:00 p.m. in the South Elgin High School Auditorium to celebrate the Top 2% high school seniors and their families. Certificates and congratulatory letters were presented to the students by the Board of Education. The Principal from each high school presented the certificates.

2. <u>Comments from the Audience</u>

There were no comments from the audience.

3. Move to Closed

President Kerr requested a motion to move into closed session to discuss information regarding the Discipline, Performance, Appointment, Employment or Reclassification of an Employee and Board of Education self-evaluation, practices and procedures or professional ethics when meeting with a representative of a statewide association of which the Board is a member. The motion was made at 6:48 p.m. by Ms. Owens, second by Ms. Thommes. Upon roll call, yes votes: Mr. Devereux, Ms. Noland, Ms. Owens, Mrs. Porter, Mrs. Smith, Ms. Thommes and Ms. Kerr. No votes: 0. The motion carried by a vote of 7-0.

4. Move to Open

Motion by Ms. Owens, second by Ms. Thommes, to adjourn to reconvene into open session at 9:58 p.m. Upon roll call, yes votes: Mr. Devereux, Ms. Noland, Ms. Owens, Mrs. Porter, Mrs. Smith, Ms. Thommes, and Ms. Kerr. No votes: 0. The motion carried by a vote of 7-0.

5. Adjournment

Motion by Mrs. Porter, second by Ms. Thommes, to adjourn the Regular Board Meeting of May 13, 2019, at 9:59 p.m. Upon roll call, yes votes: Mr. Devereux, Ms. Noland, Ms. Owens,

Mrs. Porter, Mrs. Smith, Ms. Thommes, and Ms. Kerr. No votes: 0. The motion carried by a vote of 7-0.

Approved this <u>12th</u> day of <u>August</u>, 2019.

/s/Susan Kerr// President

/s/Miguel A. Rodriguez// Secretary