SCHOOL DISTRICT U-46 ELGIN, ILLINOIS

May 14, 2018

A special meeting of the Board of Education was called to order at 6:00 p.m. at South Elgin High School, 760 East Main Street, South Elgin, Illinois. The following Board members answered roll call: Susan Kerr, Veronica Noland, Melissa Owens, Jeanette Ward and Donna Smith. Board members Phil Costello was not present at the meeting. Also in attendance were Student Board member Jackson Teetor, Chief Executive Officer Tony Sanders, Chief Legal Officer Miguel Rodriguez, Steve Burger, Dr. Josh Carpenter, Dr. Suzanne Johnson, Dr. Terri Lozier, Melanie Meidel, Ron Raglin, and Dr. Ushma Shah. Also present were Bartlett High School Principal Mike Demovsky, Elgin High School Principal Krystal Thomas, Larkin High School Principal Jamie Crosen, South Elgin High School Principal Brian Moran, and Streamwood High School Principal Michele Chapman.

- 1. <u>Call to Order Mrs. Smith</u>
 - A. <u>Roll Call</u>

Α.

B. <u>Pledge of Allegiance</u>

2. <u>Accent on Achievement – Mr. Sanders</u>

Ms. Fulin - Kane County Elementary Educator of the Year.

Mr. Sanders presented Ms. Fulin with a certificate of accomplishment and thanked her for her service to U-46 students. Ms. Fulin thanked the Board of Education and the Administrative staff for the honor as Kane County Elementary Educator of the Year.

B. Top 2% High School Seniors

Mr. Sanders welcomed students and parents as well as educators and recognized the many accomplishments the students have achieved. Mr. Sanders commended all the students for their field of choice in medicine, healthcare, education, engineering, math, business, finance and economics. Mr. Sanders encouraged the students to give back of their intelligence and personality. Mr. Sanders stated that included with the student's certificate is a letter stating that if any student obtains a teaching certificate and if the District has an opening, the applicant will be granted an interview.

Mrs. Smith congratulated each student for their accomplishment for being in the top 2% of their graduating class. Mrs. Smith also thanked the parents for their involvement in the lives of their students.

The principals from each high school presented certificates of accomplishment to students in the top 2% of each graduating class.

- 3. <u>Public Comments Mrs. Smith</u> There were no public comments.
- 4. President Smith requested a motion to move into closed session to discuss collective negotiating matters between the School Board and its employees or their representatives, or deliberations concerning salary schedules for one or more classes of employees. The motion was made at 6:50 p.m., by Ms. Noland, second by Ms. Kerr. Upon roll call, yes votes: Ms. Kerr, Ms. Noland, Ms. Owens, Mrs. Ward and Mrs. Smith. The motion carried by a vote of 5-0.
- 5. Motion by Ms. Noland, with a second by Ms. Kerr, to move to Open Session at 7:08 p.m. Upon roll call, yes votes: Ms. Noland, Ms. Noland, Ms. Owens, Mrs. Ward and Mrs. Smith. The motion carried by a vote of 5-0.
- 6. A motion was made at 7:09 p.m., by Mrs. Ward, second by Ms. Owens to allow Mr. Costello to participate in the meeting via telephone due to work related commitment. Upon roll call, yes votes: Ms. Kerr, Ms. Noland, Ms. Owens, Mrs. Ward, and Mrs. Smith. No votes: 0. The motion carried by a vote of 5-0. Mr. Costello participated by phone from 7:37 p.m. until he arrived at 8:37 p.m.
- 7. President Smith requested a motion to move into closed session to discuss the selection of a person to fill a public office, including a vacancy in a public office when the public body is given power to appoint under law or ordinance. The motion was made at 7:10 p.m., by Mrs. Ward, second by Ms. Kerr. Upon roll call, yes votes: Ms. Kerr, Ms. Noland, Ms. Owens, Mrs. Ward and Mrs. Smith. The motion carried by a vote of 5-0.
- 8. Motion by Mrs. Ward, with a second by Ms. Kerr, to adjourn at 9:27 p.m. Upon roll call, yes votes: Mr. Costello, Ms. Kerr, Ms. Noland, Mrs. Owens, Mrs. Ward and Mrs. Smith. No Votes: 0. Motion carried by a vote of 6-0.

Approved this day of N W President Secretar

- 2 -