ACADEMIC SUCCESS FOR ALL

SCHOOL DISTRICT U-46

INSTRUCTIONAL COUNCIL MEETING MAY 19, 2011 8:30 A.M. – 2:00 P.M. ESC, ROOM 240

AGENDA SUMMARY

Welcome New Council Members Farwell to Council Members Lynn Glaser Lynn Glaser

Approval of April 21, 2011 Minutes

Motion by Katie Thomson, second by Barbara Bettis to approve April 21, 2011 minutes, motion carried.

Request to Approve Proposed I.C. 2011-2012 Calendar Maryellen Friel motioned to approve Instructional Council 2011-2012 Calendar as presented, Katie Thomson seconded, motion carried.

I. Initial Presentations

None

II. Action Items

- A. Gateway to Technology Lisa Whitmer moved to recommend to the Superintendent the adoption of Gateway to Technology and materials as proposed, Maryellen Friel seconded. Motion carried. Motion to amend by Wendy Molof to recommend to the Superintendent to address rotation organization at the Middle School level to improve uniformity, choice and access to all students, Susan Collins seconded, motion carried.
- B. Business Curriculum Revisions Susan Collins moved to recommend to the Superintendent the adoption of Business Curriculum Revisions/Part One as proposed, Kim Hancock seconded. Motion carried.
- C. Family and Consumer Science Curriculum Revisions Katie Thomson moved to recommend to the Superintendent the adoption of Family and Consumer Science Curriculum Revisions/Part One as proposed, Celia Banks seconded. Motion carried.
- D. Honors Based Curriculum for SEHS BEACON Academy Katie Thomson moved to recommend to the Superintendent the adoption of the Honors Based Curriculum for SEHS BEACON Academy Junior and Senior years as proposed, Wendy Molof seconded. Motion carried, one abstention.

III. Information Items

A. Balanced Literacy Survey Results

B. Avid Update

C. RtI Update

Susan Ali

Kelvin Lane

RtI Coaches

DW-F-F001 Page 1 of 2

D. APEX Lynn Glaser

IV.Dialogue Topic

V. Other

Election of Steering Committee for 2011-2012 Instruction Council – Election of Steering Committee was conducted. Members of Instructional Council Steering Committee for 2011/2012 are:

Celia Banks

Jennifer McDonnell

Jan Booth

Dan Hoffman

Rosa Syphers

Lisa Whitmer

Lori Brandes/Denise Lockwald – will alternate attendance