

School District U-46

Educational Service Center 355 E. Chicago St., Elgin, IL 60120-6543 Tel: 847.888.5000 x5760 Fax: 847.608.2778

Dr. Suzanne Johnson, Superintendent

www.u-46.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Jan. 23, 2025 **Contact:** Tara Burghart Phone: 847-888-5000, ext. 5300

U-46 Seniors Named Illinois State Scholars

Students honored for their academic achievement

ELGIN - In recognition of their academic performance, more than 180 seniors at School District U-46's five comprehensive high schools received the Illinois State Scholar designation. The award reflects approximately the top 10 percent of academic achievers among the Class of 2025 in Illinois.

The 181 students at Elgin, Bartlett, Larkin, South Elgin, and Streamwood high schools recently received notification of the honor from the Illinois Student Assistance Commission, the state agency that works to make education beyond high school accessible and affordable.

"We congratulate these exceptional students for this accomplishment. Their hard work and perseverance should not only be a source of pride for themselves, but it also inspires their peers and serves as an example of what can be achieved through dedication and determination," said Dr. Annette Acevedo, Assistant Superintendent of Schools. "We also recognize the vital role that parents, guardians, teachers, counselors, principals, and more have played in supporting and encouraging our Illinois State Scholars."

The U-46 honorees were among approximately 16,500 students from across the state who earned the designation, which was first introduced in 1958. The scholars are selected based on a formula that includes a combination of ACT/SAT test scores, class rank (if the school ranks) or the unweighted GPA (if the school does not rank), and class size. The designation is a non-monetary award. State Scholars receive a congratulatory letter, a certificate of achievement, and a digital "badge" that can be displayed on social media platforms or shared through online profiles.

U-46's 2025 State Scholars are listed below by high school:

Bartlett High School

Jatziry Alba	Kaitlyn Jenison	Krisha Patel
Diana Berg	Sydney Johnson	Parth Patel
Brian Bishop	Yaseen Khan	Nathaniel Preissig
Ryan Chien	Landon Kim	Lance Sevilla
Kyle Chow	Gaston Klaric	Mahek Shah
Jacob Cioch	Srikrishna Kolachina	Sufyan Siddiqui
Jack Conner	Joery Lagasca	Rohini Sliwa
Kyle Depakakibo	Domenico Lamberti	Gianna Spizzirri
Cecilia Desarden	Natalya Lee	Srinidhi Srinivasan
Raymond Ear	Frederick Lorek	Sara Sulemanjee
Whalan Eid	Mason Magnanao	Dylan Szatko
Benjamin Emro	Millan Mallipeddi	Aayush Thakkar
Emma Engels	Nina Mangriotis	Elizabeth Thomas
Aayan Faisal	Audrey Martin	Grace Thorp
Melani Flores	Elle McBrearty	Karl Tomlin
Karla Flores Romo	Abhika Mishra	Emilia Tredota
Natalie Galvez	Matthew Nendick	Klaudia Tredota
Dev Gandhi	Elsie Nwabuego	Elif Uzunel
James Gillmore	Venisha Parikh	Valerie Villegas
Victor Gonzalez Argueta	Aanya Patel	Jingyuan Wen
Alizah Husain	Darsh Patel	Zara Yasoob
Allison Ibarrientos	Jainil Patel	Sara Zaidi
Rebecca Jacob	Krish Patel	

Elgin High School

Jason Allen	Hasan Hammad	Pratyush Ramesh
Liza Aygul	Samantha Havener	Mahitha Ratakonda
Abigail Cabugason	Christian Jaimes	Aaditya Sanghavi
Emily Cabugason	Emily James	Rishi Shah
Brandon Cardozo	Jacob Lesch	Nadia Silva
Evangeline Comings	Thomas Madsen	Sebastian Siwiec
Hannah Day	Joshua Nato	Isabelle Smith
John Drew	Eric Nazario	Kelly Louise Taruc
Caleb Eggers	Jorge Pano	Braedyn Tetrev
Collin Froman	Aarav Patel	Cole Tupper
Benjamin Galfi	Jai Patel	Leeya Valsadia
Brody Grosenbach	Isabella Penaloza	

Larkin High School

Dayanara Aguilar	Brianna Gabriel Revolorio	Lydia Soto
Lucy Akemann	Jenna Mack	Caitlin Sweeney
Lara Amaro	Kaitlyn Neubert	Trevor Willis
Kayla Austin	Harold Nunez	Samantha Winer
Erany Fahmy	Nickolas Pietri	

South Elgin High School

Annabeth Baughcum	Ryan Goetz	Sean Mydlach
Carter Beucler	Emmett Hanson	Diego Ortiz Villagomez
Gianna Brown	Logan Iott	Nishar Parekh
Carlos Bucio	Ellie Jahnke	Ayush Patel
Anthony Cavallo	Maya Jordan	Dia Patel
Anna Christopherson	Nathan Jung	Jessa Pentecost
Ryan Corn	Cole Jurcy	Jason Phillips
Samuel Dankel	Mackenzie Klinger	Elise Pratt
Justin Defensor	Gabriela Krusiec	Drew Raval
Donald Doan	Reilly Malesh	Kamila Sangabriel
Eric Drozdziak	Mikella Mesina	Amy Skrabacz
Ava Franch	Ethan Messer	Charles Stace
Gavin Fredricks	Callahan Miller	Logan Stoltz
Julia Fugiel	Laila Miulli	Alexander Tolentino
Ryan Giczkowski	Ruby Montgomery	Julianna Ugarte
Amber Gnutek	Rahul Mufti	Kalia Verdino

Streamwood High School

Salman Amir	Guido Narbona	Sophie Saflarski
Michaella Andres	Leonor Nevarez	Maria Santeliz Goncalves
Javier Aranda	Jesten Ngwakwe	Danielle Althea Sotto
Claire Dresser	Emily Nowel	Luis Vega
Ty Keomanivong	Dev Patel	
Sophia Lortie	Leonardo Perez	

School District U-46 serves families in 11 communities: Bartlett, Elgin, Hanover Park, South Elgin, Streamwood and Wayne, as well as portions of Carol Stream, Hoffman Estates, St. Charles, Schaumburg, and West Chicago. In total, the District encompasses 90 square miles within the Fox River Valley, approximately 45 minutes west of downtown Chicago, and includes communities within Cook, DuPage and Kane counties. More than 34,000 preschoolers through 12th graders attend the 55 District schools and programs. To learn more, visit the U-46 <u>website</u>, or like us on <u>Facebook</u> and follow us on <u>Twitter</u>.