School District U-46

Elgin, Illinois

May 10, 2021

The video of the May 10, 2021 meeting can be found here:

May 10, 2021, BOE Meeting

The Regular Meeting of the Board of Education was called to order at 6:00 p.m. at South Elgin High School, 760 East Main Street, South Elgin, Illinois. The following Board members answered roll call: John Devereux, Dawn Martin, Veronica Noland, Melissa Owens, Eva Porter, Kate Thommes, and Sue Kerr. Also present were Superintendent Tony Sanders as well as other administrators, guests, and visitors. Ms. Kerr led the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance.

1. Accent on Achievement

A. Maggie Schroeder - Kane County Support Staff Personnel of the Year

As part of the Board of Education's Accent on Achievement, the Board of Education recognized Maggie Schroeder, Coordinator of Project Access/U-46 Homeless Education Program, for being named Kane County Educational Service Personnel of the Year by the Kane County Regional Office of Education on Friday, April 30, 2021.

B. Top 2% High School Seniors.

In addition to the Board of Education hosted a reception at 6:00 p.m. in the South Elgin High School Auditorium to celebrate the Top 2% high school seniors and their families. Certificates and congratulatory letters were presented to the students by the Board of Education. The Principal from each high school was in attendance to present.

2. Public Comment

Sue Kaynish, an APEX teacher at South Elgin High School, commented on the elimination of APEX program positions. Ms. Kaynish asked the Board to consider returning both her and her colleague to a .8-hour position to be able to continue with the success of the program.

3. Move to Closed

President Kerr requested a motion to move into closed session to discuss information regarding the Discipline, Performance, Appointment, Employment or Reclassification of an Employee and Board of Education self-evaluation, practices and procedures or professional ethics when meeting with a representative of a statewide association of which the Board is a member. The motion was made at 6:55 p.m. by Ms. Noland, second by Mrs. Porter. Upon roll call, yes votes: Mr. Devereux, Ms. Martin, Ms. Noland, Ms. Owens, Mrs. Porter, Ms. Thommes and Ms. Kerr. No votes: 0. The motion carried by a vote of 7-0.

4. Move to Open

Motion by Ms. Noland, second by Mrs. Porter, to reconvene into open session at 9:00 p.m. Upon roll call, yes votes: Mr. Devereux, Ms. Martin, Ms. Noland, Ms. Owens, Mrs. Porter, Ms. Thommes, and Ms. Kerr. No votes: 0. The motion carried by a vote of 7-0.

5. Adjournment

Motion by Ms. Noland, second by Ms. Owens, to adjourn the Regular Board Meeting of May 10, 2021, at 9:01 p.m. Upon roll call, yes votes: Mr. Devereux, Ms. Martin, Ms. Noland, Ms. Owens, Mrs. Porter, Ms. Thommes, and Ms. Kerr. No votes: 0. The motion carried by a vote of 7-0.

Approved this _	17th	day of _	May	, 2021.	
<u>Susan</u> President	E 1/4	<u> </u>			A Rody