School District U-46 Elgin, Illinois

May 8, 2023

The video of the May 8, 2023 meeting can be found here:

May 8, 2023, BOE Meeting

The Regular Meeting of the Board of Education was called to order at 6:01 p.m. at South Elgin High School, 760 East Main Street, South Elgin, Illinois. The following Board members answered roll call: Samreen Kahn, Dawn Martin, Melissa Owens, Chanda Schwartz, Kate Thommes, and Sue Kerr. Board member Veronica Noland was absent. Student Board member Asraar Ahmed Siddiqui was in attendance. Also present were Interim Superintendent Dr. Suzanne Johnson, Chief Legal Officer Trisha Olson, as well as other administrators, guests, and visitors. Ms. Kerr led the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance.

1. Accent on Achievement

A. Top 2% High School Seniors.

The Board of Education presented certificates and congratulatory letters to the Top 2% of High School Seniors. The Principal from each high school was in attendance to present.

2. Public Comment

Mark Guerin commented on the possibility of working with the District regarding cellular signal enhancement.

3. Move to Closed

President Kerr requested a motion to move into closed session for the Board to conduct its Self-Evaluation when meeting with a representative of a statewide association of which the public body is a member.

The motion was made at 6:55 p.m. by Ms. Martin, second by Ms. Owens. Upon roll call, yes votes: Ms. Martin, Ms. Owens, Ms. Khan, Ms. Schwartz, Ms. Thommes and Ms. Kerr. No votes: 0. The motion carried by a vote of 6-0.

4. Move to Open

Motion by Ms. Owens, second by Ms. Martin, to reconvene into open session at 9:19 p.m. Upon roll call, yes votes: Ms. Martin, Ms. Owens, Ms. Khan, Ms. Schwartz, Ms. Thommes, and Ms. Kerr. No votes: 0. The motion carried by a vote of 6-0.

5. Adjournment

Motion by Ms. Owens, second by Ms. Martin, to adjourn the Regular Board Meeting of May 8, 2023, at 9:20 p.m. Upon roll call, yes votes: Ms. Martin, Ms. Owens, Ms. Khan, Ms. Schwartz, Ms. Thommes, and Ms. Kerr. No votes: 0. The motion carried by a vote of 6-0.

Approved this <u>15th</u> day of <u>May</u>, 2023.

<u>Susan E Ken</u> President

Justra a. Clin

Secretary