Return to Headlines

U-46 to Recognize the Top Two Percent Class of 2021 Graduates 

May 7, 2021

School District U-46 will honor the academic success and accomplishments of graduating seniors who rank in the top two percent of their class Monday, May 10 inside the South Elgin High School auditorium. The 47 students are the top-achieving graduates from the District’s five comprehensive high schools, and they are also featured as part of the District’s Class of 2021 website section, and through a series of social media posts.

Also Monday, the Board of Education will recognize Maggie Schroeder, a coordinator with Project Access, the District’s homeless education program, which supports nearly 1,000 students annually. Schroeder identifies students in temporary living situations and assists them to enroll, attend, and succeed in school. She also collaborates with local service agencies to assist with the needs of Project Access families and helps provide professional development to U-46 staff on the important topic of homeless students.

“The best part about working as the Project Access Coordinator is being able to provide hope,” said Schroeder. “When parents come to us, they many times feel defeated and have faced many struggles. It is so rewarding to be able to help them to get their children enrolled in school and provide their children with the tools they need to learn.” 

Schroeder’s association with Project Access stretches beyond her 16 years in the position. She is a 2001 graduate of Larkin High School’s Visual and Performing Arts Academy who volunteered to tutor and teach dance classes to Project Access students when she was a high schooler. 

“Watching a student who has struggled with homelessness, and attending school regularly turn things around and walk across that graduation stage is such an accomplishment, and makes my heart smile!” she said. 

The Kane County Regional Office of Education hosts the annual award ceremony to recognize and celebrate educators within the region. School districts, staff and administrators nominate exceptional individuals who demonstrate a love for learning and a commitment to education. The May 3 program, which was held virtually, marked the 45th Kane County Educator of the Year event.

The Board of Education will recognize Schroeder with an “Accent on Achievement” certificate during the 6 p.m. special Board Meeting in the auditorium at South Elgin High School, 760 E. Main Street, South Elgin.

Following the awarding of an Accent on Achievement to Schroeder, the Board of Education will honor the students who have finished in the top 2 percent of their graduating class.

"These students’ have dedicated their high school careers to excellence," said Superintendent Tony Sanders. “Not only did these students stay motivated through an untraditional school year, they dug deep, and found inspiration and creativity. Their adaptability is applauded, and their positive attitudes are an important leadership quality.”

The top two percent of graduating seniors are as follows:


Bartlett High School

Adib Shethwala 

Anirudh Ramesh

Kan Ota 

Om Patel

Paras Shah

Riva Lakkadi

Rohan Gandhi

Sebastian Gluszak 

Shivam Patel 

Tamara Aldabbagh


Elgin High School

Connor Humphreys 

Harshil Bhavsar

Jannah Qazi

Jessica Hurst

Jesus Serrano

Julian Jarmula

Krish Shah

Lauryn Martin

Megan Graffagna

Morgan Nakonechny

Taylor Butler


Larkin High School

Alexandria Kimsey 

Ayla Gray

Miguel Rodriguez

Nicole Nowel

Noah Patino

Patrycja Stachnik

Reagan Sanchez

Victoria Benshoof


South Elgin High School

Alexandra Felix 

Alyssa Miulli

Bianca Cura

Eron Mahmudi

Jacob Pettineo

Joseph Mueller

Keelyn McDermott

Mihir Amin

Natalie Salas

Ohm Patel

Samantha Thaller


Streamwood High School

Catherine Barrientos

Diana Lambropoulos

Hannah Carpenter

Isabella Flores

Kristina Kellogg

Leah Deitche

Rani Patel

Vincent Celindro


WHO: Top two percent of graduating seniors in the Class of 2021.

WHAT: Recognizing 47 students who are the top-achieving graduates from the District’s five comprehensive high schools at an in-person ceremony as part of a special Board of Education meeting. 

WHEN: 6 p.m. Monday, May 10, 2021 

WHERE:  At the South Elgin High School auditorium. 760 E Main St, South Elgin. The ceremony will be live-streamed and archived on the School District U-46 YouTube channel: