Return to Headlines

U-46 Student Musicians and School Counselors Honored with 'Accent on Achievement'

Feb. 4, 2019

Nine U-46 high school students will be recognized by the Board of Education Monday with an “Accent on Achievement” for their outstanding achievements as musicians. The Board of Education will also recognize the integral role of school counselors as part of National School Counseling Week, Feb. 4-9, 2019.

The American School Counselor Association’s annual recognition highlights the impact school counselors can have in helping students achieve academic success and prepare for college and careers. School District U-46 added counselors to each middle school this year, restoring these important roles after they were lost during the recession a decade ago.

“We’re proud to honor both these talented students and these important colleagues tonight,” said U-46 CEO Tony Sanders. “Our counselors guide students and help them make critical decisions in middle school and high school. I’m also pleased to honor these dedicated students who have poured their time and skills into musical endeavors.”

Students participated in the Illinois Music Education Association (ILMEA) competitive audition process to be named All-State Musicians, the highest musical achievement for high schoolers in Illinois. Selected students performed at the ILMEA’s annual music education conference Jan. 23 through Jan. 26 in Peoria.

“I am proud of the musical opportunities we offer students in U-46,” said Jaimie Giraldo, U-46 Coordinator of Fine Arts. “Our dedicated music teachers provide inspiration and guidance, and these gifted students are turning into superior musicians.”

The Board of Education will recognize these students with “Accent on Achievement” certificates at 7 p.m. Monday, Feb. 4 in room 140 at the Educational Services Center.

South Elgin High School

●     Sara Pfeil, senior, All-State Honors Orchestra - Principal Horn

●     Grace Ryan, senior, All-State Honors Chorus


Larkin High School

●     Chloe Robbins, senior, All-State Honors Orchestra - Bassoon

●     Zach Wilder,  senior, All-State Honors Band - Principal Clarinet

●     Jackson Teetor, senior, All-State Honors Band - Principal Trumpet

●     Elianna Nielsen, junior, All-State Orchestra - Viola

●     Ethan Montgomery, sophomore, All-State Honors Band - Clarinet

●     Kaitlin Dobbeck, senior - Future Music Educators Symposium


Bartlett High School

●     Kevin Johnson, senior, All-State Chorus

Nearly two dozen other U-46 students were selected to participate in the ILMEA District IX honors festival, which U-46 participates in annually.  Students from around the suburban area audition before a panel of professional musicians and are selected based on their ranking among their peers. The U-46 students selected are: Junior Miranda Preuss (orchestra - viola), junior Becca Winer (chorus), senior Dana Christiansen (chorus), junior Cassandra Valdes (chorus), and sophomore Miguel Rodriguez (band - flute) all of Larkin High School; sophomore Salvador Salud (orchestra - viola), junior Isabella Hernandez (chorus), senior Diana Schmidt (chorus) and senior Arthur Thorne (band - trombone), all of Elgin High School; senior Aasma Haider (orchestra - cello), senior Naomi Latta (chorus), senior Alyssa Carey (chorus), sophomore Gauri Yadav (chorus), junior Lawrence Yap (chorus), and junior Ryan Blake (band - euphonium), all of Bartlett High School; senior Angel Pangilinan (orchestra - cello), senior Kiersten Larsen (chorus), junior Ally Wesner (chorus), junior Eunice Kim (band - clarinet), all of South Elgin High School; and junior Isabela Camahalan (chorus) and junior Zoe Becker (band - horn), both of Streamwood High School.