Guidance

  • Today’s young people are living in an exciting time, with an increasingly diverse and mobile society, new technologies, and expanding opportunities. To help ensure that they are prepared to become the next generation of parents, workers, leaders, and citizen”, every student needs support, guidance, and opportunities during adolescence, a time of rapid growth and change. Adolescents face unique and diverse challenges, both personally and developmentally, that impact academic achievement.

    Today's school counselors are vital members of the education team. They help all students in the areas of academic achievement, personal/social development and career development, ensuring today's students become the productive, well-adjusted adults of tomorrow.  The professional high school counselor holds a master’s degree and required state certification in school counseling. Maintaining certification includes on-going professional development to stay current with educational reform and challenges facing today’s students.

    We celebrated National School Counseling week last February 2015 and we put together this video

    Our school social workers play a unique role in the school as they work with school staff, students, families, and community agencies in removing barriers to education. They serve as the vital link between home, school, and community.  Some of the services provided by our school social workers include: Counseling, Groups, Family Contact, Interventions, crisis support, RTI Tier 2 & 3 interventions, and SPED services.  The professional high school social workers holds a master’s degree and required state certification in school social work. Maintaining certification includes on-going professional development to stay current with educational reform and challenges facing today’s students.

    Elgin High School Guidance Department Staff

    The school’s phone number, (847) 888-5100, must be dialed before the extension.

    Caitlyn Druger Assistant  Principal of Student Servicescaitlyndruger@u-46.org ext. 8265

    Maribel Saldua Secretary maribelsalduavargas@u-46.org ext. 5113

    Guidance Counselors
    A - Chal Heather Spear heatherspear@u-46.org ext. 5120
    Cham - Gol Breann Tomaso breanntomaso@u-46.org ext. 5119
    Gom - Lon Patrick McCarthy patrickmccarthy@u-46.org ext. 5112
    Loo - Pak Lora Proia

    loraproia@u-46.org

    ext. 5122
    Pal - Santa David Hess davidhess@u-46.org ext. 6993
    Sante - Z Violetta Losowski violettalosowski@u-46.org ext. 5118
    ELL     A - Z  Martin Aburto martinaburto@u-46.org ext. 5121

    Counselor intern

         

     

    MTSS

         
      Lisa Holbrook

    lisaholbrook@u-46.org

    ext. 5173
    Social Workers
    A - D  Amy Vecchio amyvecchio@u-46.org ext. 4145
    E - O  Christine Larison christinebodnarlarison@u-46.org ext. 5364
    P - Z  Jessica Kim jessicakim@u-46.org

    ext. 5147


    Other Services Links
       

    Guidance Procedures/Handouts/Power Points

    Counselors will meet with students at various times throughout the year. Students are welcome to make an appointment with their assigned counselor whenever necessary. In order to set up an appointment a student may stop by and place his or her name on that counselor’s individual sign- up sheet, which is conveniently located on the front counter of the Guidance Department. Parents may call the counselor’s direct number (see chart below) to schedule an appointment, leave a message or ask a question. Students are assigned to counselors based on the spelling of their last names.

    If students need to make an appointment with their counselor, they can use click here to make an appointment

     Tier one universal groups are meetings with students at the beggining of the year to give grade level guidance.