Gifted and Talented Academy

  •  

     Gifted Academy

    Elgin High School Gifted and Talented Academy

    From its foundation in 1997 as part of a district-wide initiative to meet the needs and interests of the students, the Gifted and Talented Academy is one of five academies offered at the high school level. The Gifted and Talented Academy is dedicated to providing a rigorous, innovative, meaningful academic environment to challenge the intellectual and creative abilities of gifted and talented students. Students will be provided with a broad spectrum of opportunities to extend and enrich the classroom curriculum through guest speakers, theater, summer programming, and fieldtrips during the school year to enliven the classroom experience. Students will be prepared to face challenges and make choices that will meet the complexities of today’s world, support a lifelong commitment to learning and encourage them to make use of their potential.

     

    About the Program

    Academy students tackle an intense curriculum with the latest learning materials with a unique focus to encourage the development of students' talents and interests. 

    Students are admitted through an application and review process. Informational fairs are held at the high schools each fall and a call for applications is extended to eighth grade students. Selections are generally announced in mid-February. 

    Any student in good standing who has the interest and ability to perform the academic and specialized work of the program is eligible to apply for admission.  Students must fill out an application form for the academy in which they are interested. Students are encouraged to talk to a counselor about enrollment in the academies.  

    The Gifted and Talented Academy offers:

    • Challenging and innovative classes
    • Weighted grades in core subjects
    • Advanced Placement classes
    • Teachers with Gifted Verification and extensive classroom experience
    • Community involvement
    • Unique field trip opportunities, seminars, and speakers 

    Magnet Academy Applications will be accepted beginning October 1st 

    Please visit the U-46 Magnet Academies Website for more information on the application process.

    General questions about the Magnet Academies can be sent to magnetacademies@u-46.org.

    Click here to be directed to the EHS Weebly Gifted Academy Website.

    U-46 Magnet Academies Brochure

    Parent Guidebook Gifted Education 

     

    Save the Date!Open House

    Gifted & Talented Academy Virtual Open House

    Tuesday, September 22nd

    Session 1 4-5pm

    Session 2 6-7pm

    EHS Gifted & Talented Academy Faculty

    Assistant Principal of Innovation & Gifted Talented Academy

    Gamila Williams ext.8100 gamilawilliams@u-46.org

    Administrative Assistant Maria Esposito ext.5101 mariaesposito@u-46.org

    Mathematics

    Kari Foerster x8131 karifoerster@u-46.org

    Jaclynn Nail   x8129  jaclynnail@u-46.org

    Richard Towry x8145 richardtowry@u-46.org  

    English

    Cristina Cabrera x5172 cristinacabrera@u-46.org

    Lisa Smith x8195 lisasmith@u-46.org

    Social Studies

    John Devine x4853 johndevine@u-46.org

    Felicia Randle x4825 feliciarandle@u-46.org

    Adam Plach x4824 adamplach@u-46.org

    Haley Gallagher haleygallagher@u-46.org 

    Science

    Mari Gathman x8157marigathman@u-46.org

    Bridgid Trimble x8159 brigidtrimble@u-46.org 

    Christine Osberg x8164 christineosberg@u-46.org