Gifted and Talented Academy

  •  

    From its foundation in 1997 as part of a district-wide initiative to meet the needs and interests of the students, the Gifted and Talented Academy is one of five academies offered at the high school level. The Gifted and Talented Academy is dedicated to providing a rigorous, innovative, meaningful academic environment to challenge the intellectual and creative abilities of gifted and talented students. Students will be provided with a broad spectrum of opportunities to extend and enrich the classroom curriculum through guest speakers, theater, summer programming, and fieldtrips during the school year to enliven the classroom experience. Students will be prepared to face challenges and make choices that will meet the complexities of today’s world, support a lifelong commitment to learning and encourage them to make use of their potential.

     

    Gifted & Talented Academy Faculty

    Assistant Principal of Innovation

    Gamila Williams ext.8100 gamilawilliams@u-46.org

    Mathematics

    Kari Foerster x8131 karifoerster@u-46.org

    Jaclynn Nail   x8129  jaclynnail@u-46.org

    Richard Towry x8145 richardtowry@u-46.org  

    English

    Cristina Cabrera x5172 cristinacabrera@u-46.org

    Lisa Smith x8195 lisasmith@u-46.org

    Social Studies

    John Devine x4853 johndevine@u-46.org

    Chris LaRue x8207 chrislarue@u-46.org

    Felicia Randle x4825 feliciarandle@u-46.org

    Adam Plach x4824 adamplach@u-46.org

    Science

    Mari Gathman x8157marigathman@u-46.org

    Christine Osberg x8164 christineosberg@u-46.org

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     
     
  • SUMMER ENRICHMENT -- FRESHMEN -- 2020/2021 ACADEMIC YEAR

    Academy Class of 2024 Students and Parents:

    Once again, we welcome you to the EHS Gifted & Talented Academy. We are pleased that you have chosen to continue your academic journey with us. Here, we focus on developing your reading, writing, and critical-thinking, scientific concepts and mathematical skills.

    Your first assignments including, summer reading, science and math are attached. Please read the documents carefully, noting that you are required to read (and take notes on) one book each for your English and science classes. Reading is due on the first day of class in August.

    We encourage you to start early to allow yourself plenty of time to read, write, and think about the ideas in your chosen texts as they will help to provide the foundation for this year’s learning.  
     
    Should you have any questions about the included assignments, you may reach out to the following Gifted and Talent Academy teachers at EHS:
     
    Kari Foerster karifoerster@u-46.org -Math
    Mari Gathman marigathman@u-46.org-Science
    Jacki Nail jaclynnail@u-46.org-Math
    Lisa Smithlisasmith@u-46.org-English Language Arts