International Baccalaureate Candidate Academy*

  •  

     Gifted Academy

    Elgin High School International Baccalaureate Candidate Academy*

    *Elgin High School is a Candidate School* for the Diploma Programme. This school is pursuing authorization as an IB World School. These are schools that share a common philosophy—a commitment to high quality, challenging, international education that Elgin High School believes is important for our students. 

    *Only schools authorized by the IB Organization can offer any of its four academic programmes: the Primary Years Programme (PYP), the Middle Years Programme (MYP), the Diploma Programme, or the Career-related Programme (CP). Candidate status gives no guarantee that authorization will be granted. For further information about the IB and its programmes, visit www.ibo.org

     

    From its foundation in 1997 as part of a district-wide initiative to meet the needs and interests of the students, the International Baccalaureate Candidate Academy* is one of five academies offered at the high school level. The International Baccalaureate Candidate Academy* is dedicated to providing a rigorous, innovative, meaningful academic environment to challenge the intellectual and creative abilities of gifted and talented students. Students will be provided with a broad spectrum of opportunities to extend and enrich the classroom curriculum through guest speakers, theater, summer programming, and fieldtrips during the school year to enliven the classroom experience. 

    The International Baccalaureate Candidate Academy* at Elgin High School is designed for students who challenge assumptions by raising questions, students who take risks by daring to try something different. The program identifies students' talents and nurtures their skills through problem-solving situations. The program aims to prepare students to be innovative thinkers of the 21st century. 

    The International Baccalaureate Candidate Academy* is housed within Elgin High School. It offers an enriched, integrated curriculum and a wide spectrum of Advanced Placement classes. Students apply to the Academy during the fall of their eighth-grade year. Upon admission to the Academy, students must maintain a "C" or higher in each academy class in order to remain a part of the program. Students enjoy the opportunity to take electives and participate in extra-curricular activities offered in the comprehensive high school program. 

    The International Baccalaureate Candidate Academy* offers:

    • Challenging and innovative classes
    • Weighted grades in core subjects
    • Advanced Placement classes
    • Teachers with Gifted verification and extensive classroom experience
    • Community involvement
    • Unique field trip opportunities, seminars, and speakers 

    The mission of the International Baccalaureate Candidate Academy* is to provide a rigorous, innovative, meaningful academic environment to challenge both the intellectual and creative abilities of students. Given opportunities for integrated curriculum and personal exploration within a supportive learning community, students will be prepared to face challenges and make choices that will meet the complexities of today's world and make the process of lifelong learning an exciting use of their potential. 

     

     

    U-46 Magnet Academies Brochure

    Parent Guidebook Gifted Education 

     

     


     

     International Baccalaureate Candidate Academy* Preview Day 2021

    Preview Day 2021

    APHG Commercial

    Loom Video


    EHS Gifted & Talented Academy Faculty

    Assistant Principal of Innovation & Gifted Talented Academy

    Gamila Williams ext.8100 gamilawilliams@u-46.org

    Administrative Assistant Maria Esposito ext.5101 mariaesposito@u-46.org

    Mathematics

    Kari Foerster x8131 karifoerster@u-46.org

    Jaclynn Nail   x8129  jaclynnail@u-46.org

    Richard Towry x8145 richardtowry@u-46.org  

    Joseph Bilyard x8133 josephbilyard@u-46.org 

    John Leone x8115 johnleone@u-46.org

    Scott Superczynski x8132 scottsuperczynski@u-46.org

    English

    Cristina Cabrera x5172 cristinacabrera@u-46.org

    Lisa Smith x8195 lisasmith@u-46.org

    Social Studies

    John Devine x4853 johndevine@u-46.org

    Felicia Randle x4825 feliciarandle@u-46.org

    Adam Plach x4824 adamplach@u-46.org

    Chris Capps x8211 chriscapps@u-46.org

    Geoffrey Guiney x8214 geoffreyguiney@u-46.org 

    Science

    Mari Gathman x8157marigathman@u-46.org

    Bridgid Trimble x8159 brigidtrimble@u-46.org 

    Christine Osberg x8164 christineosberg@u-46.org

    Victoria Griffin x8152 victoriagriffin@u-46.org


     

     

    Gifted & Talented Academy  Open House Zoom Webinar!
    Topic: EHS Gifted and Talented Academy Open House Q&A Webinar
       

  • *The Elgin High School Academy is a Candidate School** for the Diploma Programme. This academy is pursuing authorization as an IB World School. These are schools that share a common philosophy—a commitment to high-quality, challenging, international education that Elgin High School believes is important for our students. 

    **Only schools authorized by the IB Organization can offer any of its four academic programmes: the Primary Years Programme (PYP), the Middle Years Programme (MYP), the Diploma Programme, or the Career-related Programme (CP). Candidate status gives no guarantee that authorization will be granted. For further information about the IB and its programmes, visit www.ibo.org