Guidance

  • Today’s young people are living in an exciting time, with an increasingly diverse and mobile society, new technologies, and expanding opportunities. To help ensure that they are prepared to become the next generation of parents, workers, leaders, and citizen”, every student needs support, guidance, and opportunities during adolescence, a time of rapid growth and change. Adolescents face unique and diverse challenges, both personally and developmentally, that impact academic achievement.

    Today's school counselors are vital members of the education team. They help all students in the areas of academic achievement, personal/social development and career development, ensuring today's students become the productive, well-adjusted adults of tomorrow.  The professional high school counselor holds a master’s degree and required state certification in school counseling. Maintaining certification includes on-going professional development to stay current with educational reform and challenges facing today’s students.

    Our school social workers play a unique role in the school as they work with school staff, students, families, and community agencies in removing barriers to education. They serve as the vital link between home, school, and community.  Some of the services provided by our school social workers include: Counseling, Groups, Family Contact, Interventions, crisis support, RTI Tier 2 & 3 interventions, and SPED services.  The professional high school social workers holds a master’s degree and required state certification in school social work. Maintaining certification includes on-going professional development to stay current with educational reform and challenges facing today’s students.
     

    Welcome to 2019-2020, Maroon Family!

    It's first quarter, and that brings certain seasonal topics to our Student Services Maroon Wellness newsletter: PSAT testing, grades, and financial aid.  This quarter, there are new topics, too.  Visit the newsletter for information you need on vaping, how to make Infinite Campus work for you, and our improved and comprehensive Counseling Services calendar.  As always, we encourage students and families to bookmark the newsletter website and visit often.

    Happy Fall from your EHS Student Services Team.

    Elgin High School Guidance Department Staff

    The school’s phone number, (847) 888-5100, must be dialed before the extension.

    Alan Flota Associate Principal. alanflota@u-46.org  ext 5104

    Caitlyn Druger Assistant Principal of Student Servicescaitlyndruger@u-46.org ext. 8265

    Maribel Saldua Secretary maribelsalduavargas@u-46.org ext. 5113

    Guidance Counselors
      A - Can Heather Spear heatherspear@u-46.org ext. 5120
      Car - Flor Breann Tomaso breanntomaso@u-46.org ext. 5119
      Fra - I Patrick McCarthy patrickmccarthy@u-46.org ext. 5112
      J - Me Lora Proia

    loraproia@u-46.org

    ext. 5122
      Mi - Rame David Hess davidhess@u-46.org  ext. 6993
      Rami - Smith Celia Howard celiahoward@u-46.org ext. 6683
     Sol - T, ELL 4-5  Violetta Losowski violettalosowski@u-46.org ext. 5118

     U - Z, ELL 1-3

     Martin Aburto  martinaburto@u-46.org  ext. 5121

     

    MTSS

         
      Lisa Holbrook

    lisaholbrook@u-46.org

    ext. 5336
    Social Workers
    A - GI  Amy Vecchio amyvecchio@u-46.org ext. 4145
    GO-O  Christine Larison christinebodnarlarison@u-46.org ext. 5147
    P - Z  Jessica Kim jessicakim@u-46.org

    ext. 5364


    Other Services Links
       

    Guidance Procedures/Handouts/Power Points

    Counselors will meet with students at various times throughout the year. Students are welcome to make an appointment with their assigned counselor whenever necessary. In order to set up an appointment a student may stop by and place his or her name on that counselor’s individual sign- up sheet, which is conveniently located on the front counter of the Guidance Department. Parents may call the counselor’s direct number (see chart below) to schedule an appointment, leave a message or ask a question. Students are assigned to counselors based on the spelling of their last names.

    If students need to make an appointment with their counselor, they can use click here to make an appointment

     Tier one universal groups are meetings with students at the beggining of the year to give grade level guidance.