Return to Headlines

U-46 Announces 20 Winners of the Superintendent’s Scholarship

May 19, 2020

Twenty U-46 Class of 2020 members will move on to college in the fall with a $1,000 Superintendent’s Scholarship. All are first-generation college-bound students, with four winners from each of the District’s five comprehensive high schools; Bartlett, Elgin, Larkin, South Elgin and Streamwood.

“These first generation students have proven through their academic and extracurricular accomplishments that they are college-ready, poised to take on the challenges of continuing their education past high school,” said U-46 Superintendent Tony Sanders. “We look forward to watching these students continue to succeed in college and beyond.”  

Since the Superintendent's Scholarship fund was established in 2012 through the U-46 Educational Foundation, nearly 250 U-46 graduates, including this year’s recipients, have each received a $1,000 scholarship. 

Eligible seniors submitted applications for the scholarship this past winter. The application included their high school transcript, a copy of their Federal Student Aid application, a letter of recommendation from an adult (a principal, teacher, academic advisor, employer, religious leader, etc.) and a personal essay. A panel of judges selected the 20 scholarship recipients.

On April 23rd, recipients participated in a Zoom networking workshop led by former Board of Education member Traci O’Neal Ellis who emphasized the skills needed to make a good first impression and demonstrate self-confidence. Yvonne Irving from KCT Credit Union also spoke with the students. She addressed topics such as financial aid, student loans, and establishing a line of credit.   

The 20 Class of 2020 Superintendent’s Scholarship recipients are as follows: 

Bartlett High School
Grant Simmons
Karina Flores
Michael Ian Rabanal
Sophie Praxmarer

Elgin High School
Arielle Taylor
Briauna Brown
Emily Acevedo
Monserrat Ponce 

Larkin High School
Berenice Gomez
Edson Rangel
Marteena Mendel-Duckins
Ricardo Golden-Garcia

South Elgin High School
Dulce Aguilar
Hannah Kolbusz
Karolina Terlikowski
Mercedes Alejandre

Streamwood High School
Brandon Munoz
Gabriella Cardinale
Kaleb Louden
Lynise Gutierrez