Driver Education is a one-semester, non-credit course that combines both classroom and behind-the-wheel information.
The course will teach you everything you need to know about legally operating a vehicle on the different roadways of Illinois. You'll also learn how to interpret and follow various road signs, including speed limit signs, yield signs, and many others.
Before obtaining your Illinois driver's license, you will need to pass both a written examination and a behind-the-wheel examination. Your driving instructor will provide you with the information you need to get one step closer to passing both examinations and earning your driver's license.
Students must be 15 by the first day of class to be eligible to enroll in Driver Education.
Students must be able to show passing grades in 8 classes prior to the semester they are enrolled in Driver Education. Courses from Middle School can count towards the 8 classes if you are a freshman enrolling in the course.
Driver's Ed in Illinois consists of:
- 30 hours of classroom instruction (this is a combination of 20 hours of in-person instruction and 10 hours of flipped/independent instruction)
- 6 hours of in-car driving instruction and 6 hours of observation
The curriculum follows the content in the Illinois Rules of the Road Book.
You will also be required to complete an additional 50 hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice with your parent/guardian or supervising licensed driver who is at least 21 years old, including 10 hours driven at night. These hours are to be completed when you receive your learner's permit.
The guidelines from the state are very rigorous. To be sure we meet the requirements set forth by the Secretary of State, if a student misses more than 2 classes, they will be dropped from the course and fees will not be refunded.
After successful completion of your IL Driver's Ed course, your school will notify the Illinois Secretary of State, and it will be noted on your official driving record.
When you turn 16 years old, you can apply for your Illinois initial driver's license. In addition to completing an Illinois Driver's Ed program, you will also need to have completed at least 50 hours of driving practice time, including 10 hours at night. Copy of the student driving log to document the 50 hours of practice can be found on page 31 in the below Illinois GDL Parent-Teen Driving Guide.
Parent Resource: Illinois GDL Parent-Teen Driving Guide
Registration & Fees
Two separate payments are required for registration: $283.00
- $263.00 made payable to School District U-46 due at registration (Course fee and students’ workbook)
- $20.00 made payable to Illinois Secretary of State (permit fee)
For more information please contact your school Driver Education Administrator
Bartlett High School: Jeff Bral 1-630-372-4700 ext.4521
Central Schools Program: Lyndsey Mota 1-847-888-5340
Dream Academy: Mary Perkins 1-847-888-5000
Elgin High School: Paul Pennington 1-847-888-5100 ext. 5346
Larkin High School: Ethan Karolczak 1-847-888-5200 ext. 4515
South Elgin High School: Michael Jezioro 1-847-289-3760 ext. 3665
Streamwood High School: Jason Ziols 1-630-213-5500 ext. 4999
Summer School 2022 Driver Education Information
Registration is completed with your counselor
Space is limited; 27 students, who are selected by birthdate
Drowsy Driving Awareness
Scott's Law requires that a driver proceed cautiously when an emergency vehicle is stopped and move over and change lanes, and/or slow down if changing lanes is impossible.
The law imposes enhanced penalties, a possible driver license suspension, and even jail time for severe violations.